How to take spiritual stock of 2011

By Blogger Clay Ritter

“Behold, the former things have come to pass, and new things I declare; before they spring forth I tell you of them. (Is 42:9)”

The dawn of a new year is a unique time. Many of us will reflect on our lives over the course of the past year. Was it a good year? Bad year? Somewhere in between?

I suppose that the thing that determines whether we consider 2011 a ‘good’ or ‘bad’ year has something to do with our perspective; how we measure the past year of our life. If I asked you to rate the past year, what criteria would you use? Finances? Career? Health? Relationships? Spiritual growth?

In reality, all of these are valid areas to evaluate, as they are all important aspects of our lives. They are things we should take stock of from time to time.

Now, from a biblical standpoint, there isn’t a scripture that tells us that on Jan. 1 we should take stock of our lives, and make New Year’s resolutions. But there are verses that tell us to examine ourselves.

For instance, Galatians 6:4 tell us:

“But let each one examine his own work, and then he will have rejoicing in himself alone, and not in another.” (Gal 6:4)

So as we move into this new year, I leave you with three questions to ponder:

#1 Are the things I am doing today; physically, emotionally, spiritually, working for my life?

#2 Am I being a good and faithful steward of the things God has entrusted to me?

#3 Am I living my life with purpose?

2 responses to “How to take spiritual stock of 2011

  1. Great post Clay and questions to ponder on how to make 2012 the best year yet! Happy and blessed New Year to you and all of the writers and staff at Religion News Wilmington!

  2. I really like this as a daily “inventory”. what a wonderful tool and well derived. thanks for posting!

What do you think?

