Capturing March for Life 2012 in My Own Words/Photos/Videos

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By Contributor Tracy Bua Smith

Last year, my family and I attended our first March for Life, and I blogged about this incredible experience HERE.

On Monday, Jan. 23, my daughter, friends and I joined a parish in Rocky Mount, N.C., and traveled to Washington, D.C. to our second march on three large buses with about 150 people.

Our first stop when we arrived was the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception.

Each year there is a Holy Mass for Life for all the N.C. pro-lifers present at the march. It is just so beautiful to see the many priests and seminarians and our two bishops from the Raleigh and Charlotte dioceses celebrate Mass inside the packed church.

Tracy Smith and her daughter posing with Father Tim Meares, priest of Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Rocky Mount. Photo by Tracy Smith.

Although I missed celebrating this march with my husband and other three children, it was very special to have my daughter with me to share such a powerful event. It’s never too early to teach our children that life, no matter how small, is precious and sacred.

The sky was gray and gloomy, but the group’s spirits were high, which made the day much brighter, for sure.

After our group gathered at the Navy Memorial, we marched with an estimated 300,000-500,000 pro-lifers. There were men, women and children from all ages, races, religions and walks of life joining together to stand for life, one step and prayer at a time.

It was breathtaking, exhilarating and powerful to walk among the masses. It was a sea of love, as one friend put it. There was no anger, fear or hate in the crowds. Rather, there was a feeling of security, hope, peace, joy and love, and all the young people present gave me hope for our future.

Here is a video clip I took while walking in the march. The young people are shouting, “We love babies, yes we do, we love babies, how ’bout you!”

Like last year, I love the signs that float through the massive crowds. (See slideshow.)

After we left the Senate building, we headed toward the Supreme Court where we listened to women tell their stories about how they had an abortion and how much they have suffered physically, mentally, psychologically, emotionally and spiritually from their decision. It was heartbreaking to hear their stories, but they share their stories to help others through a project called Silent No More Awareness Campaign.

Photo by Tracy Smith

A few feet from where the women were speaking, there were different signs being held up.

Seeing these signs made me sad because the stories these women were telling were filled with pain, grief, sadness, confusion and even hope, but only a few feet away, pro-abortion signs were being held up proudly. I snapped a picture of signs that read “Keep Abortion Legal” and the pro-life signs saying: “Defund Planned Parenthood” and “Face It….Abortion Kills a Person.”

My 11-year-old daughter didn’t understand why anyone would want to keep abortion legalized. She kept asking me “why?”

I told her I don’t understand it myself, but we need to keep standing up for life and praying for conversions so that all people will see that each human person is made in the image and likeness of God. Each life, no matter how small, no matter the circumstance, is sacred and valuable.

What do you think?

