Follow WilmingtonFAVS writer’s “1 Brave Christian” experiment through Lent: “How Can I Serve”

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

On Sunday morning, January 15, 2012, I thought for sure I’d experienced the best that a Positive Music Festival had to offer in Orlando.

During the conference weekend, I’d already attended one welcome reception, nine Pajama Jams, three interactive workshops, one Music that Matters concert and one Song Circle with inspirational Gospel great Harold Payne, where I read five of my poems.

I’m an early riser Yogini-writer type, not a strum-my-guitar-‘til-dawn-night-owl. So I skipped the Late Night Jam, hoping I’d make it to the 8 a.m. yoga class. But I only managed the 11 a.m. program where I arrived ten minutes late, yawning and blasé.

I desperately needed what the event title promised to deliver: a “faith lift.”

By lunchtime, I’d gone from yawning to clapping and from blasé to passionate.

The afternoon speaker symposium, “Being the Change You Wish to See,” provided even more inspiring stories, but no answer to the question that grew louder and louder in me: “How can I serve?”

Stowe Dailey Shockey performing at the Positive Music Festival. Photo by Christine Moughamian

After the 7th Annual Posi Awards, which is like the Grammys for Positive Music, I met musician and author Stowe Dailey Shockey, who was a power machine on guitar. The next day, she stopped me in the lobby to give me a copy of her book “Flying High.”

I started reading in the car on the long drive back to Wilmington.

I was captivated by the “true story of shared inspiration” between her and co-author Calvin LeHew. Both overcame cancer, turning fear into faith. Then I came to a chapter titled Ten Brave Christians, introduced by a quote from Albert Einstein: “Only a life lived for others is worth living.”

A sense of urgency ran through me.

Calvin LeHew was one of the original “Ten Brave Christians” that Sunday school teacher Sam Teague both challenged and guided in the 1960’s to “live a life that really matters.”

I was hooked.

I read and reread “the five disciplines” that Teague outlined:

– Meet once a week to pray together

– Give two hours each week to God

– Give God one-tenth of their earnings

– Spend time each morning in prayer, meditation and writing down goals

– Witness for God their experiences to others

I wasn’t quite sure how to go about it yet, but I knew I’d found my answer, to serve by being one brave Christian.

Sam Teague started his one-month experiment in March.

So I decided to conduct mine over the forty days of Lent which starts on Wednesday, Feb. 22. I will journal daily about it at www.wilmingtonfavs.com and open a virtual prayer group sharing on Twitter @1bravechristian.

Beginning Ash Wednesday this week, would you like to accompany me on my journey?

3 responses to “Follow WilmingtonFAVS writer’s “1 Brave Christian” experiment through Lent: “How Can I Serve”

  1. a ‘share-worthy’ post!

  2. Thank you, Pastor Clay, for your kind words! Are you familiar at all with the “Ten Brave Christians” experiment? Blessings of Peace.

  3. Pingback: One Brave Christian Experiment – Day 4, Clarity | Wilmington Faith and Values

What do you think?

