One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 3, Meditation

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

You’d think my first couple of days as one brave Christian would have unfolded in divine harmony: set intention, pray and meditate, write post and cruise control.

Right?

Wrong.

Day One was mostly spent trying to remain gracious on two hours of sleep.

Day Two slipped away from me between errands and appointments.

Day Three: all of the above?

No way!

It’s taken me years of assiduous discipline to practice yoga first thing in the morning; then sit and meditate for a few minutes. After two failed attempts at observing Sam Teague’s meditation time between 5:30 a.m. and 6 a.m., I have to admit the obvious. Today, that last discipline will have to come, well, last.

Photos of Brown-headed Nuthatch. Photo by Jim Downer

Upon awakening this morning, I listened to my motivational tape, then practiced one hour of Kundalini Yoga, meditated for a few minutes, had breakfast, showered, checked my e-mails and oh yes, lovingly interacted with my boyfriend who’d already counted nine bird species in our front and back yards.

Which explains why it was 11:26 a.m. when I finally got to meditate as one brave Christian. I pick up my Bible to find an appropriate scripture. But I don’t even need to open it. As soon as I hold my Bible in my hands, I hear quite clearly:

“Be still and know that I am” from Psalm 46.

I light the candle on my altar, sit cross-legged on the floor and affirm out loud Unity’s Prayer for Protection:

The light of God surrounds us,

The love of God enfolds us,

The power of God protects us,

The presence of God watches over us.

Wherever we are, God is

And all is well.

Amen.

Then I read Psalm 46. The old English of the King James Version gives it a quality both raw and immediate. I’m particularly taken with Psalm 46:3-4:

“Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled,

Though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah.

There is a river, the streams whereof

Shall make glad the city of God,

The holy place of the tabernacles of the most High.”

On my spiritual path, I encountered Bible study after I’d already read

Three translations: Bhagavad Gita As It Is, a ...

Three translations of the Bhagavad Gita. Image via Wikipedia

the Bhagavad Gita and the Yoga Sutras and been educated about the Chakra system. I cannot help but hear those two biblical verses in a metaphysical context, which I would translate as follows:

“Though the waters of my emotions may be troubled,

Though the mountain foundation of my existence may shake,

There is a current of Divine Energy

Which shall brighten the Crown Chakra with Divine Bliss.”

In the same way, verse 10, “Be still and know that I am God” means to me:

“Meditate and know that I am God in you, as you.”

When I am done reading and studying Psalm 46, I prepare for meditation. I focus my gaze on the candle flame and repeat internally “Be still and know that I am.”

Immediately, I feel a sense of peace settle down in me. My breathing slows down, thinking disappears. When I check the time, nine minutes have elapsed. I turn my gaze back to the candle and meditate some more.

After my practice, it’s time to write.

I can tell I will benefit from daily prayer, scripture study and meditation, both as a person and a writer.

Later this afternoon, I’ll interview Stowe Dailey Shockey, whose book “Flying High” introduced me to Sam Teague and his “Ten Brave Christians” experiment. I make a mental note to ask her how she fared with the early morning meditation requirement.

Do you engage in a regular prayer and meditation practice? And if so, what kind of schedule seems to work best for you?

7 responses to “One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 3, Meditation

  1. I am a yoga teacher and I admire how you have found a way to practice yoga that isn’t threatening to your faith. It’s a shame that people miss so much of the common ground that we have with each other. The Yoga Sutras and the Bhagavad Gita both are concerned with moving away from our self-centeredness toward the divine. That’s a practice that people from differing traditions could agree on, I think. Deep bow to you.

  2. Dear David, thank you for taking the time to read and respond to my post. I agree with you that most spiritual traditions share the common ground of reaching beyond ourselves to become a better person and strengthen our awareness of the Divine. How long have been practicing Yoga, and what is your spiritual path? Namaste!

    • Hi Christine – I’ve been practicing yoga for something like twenty years, and I’ve been teaching for seven. I have taken Buddhist vows a few years ago, but I consider myself a yogi. I am in a yoga group where we each work closely with senior teachers. Part of my assigned work is to inquire into my relationship with the Divine. I don’t claim understanding of the Divine. But I’ve said that I do understand love, and if I can equate love with the Divine, then I can work with that. My own working definition of spiritual path is that the spiritual path is whatever takes me closer to the Divine (love). I practice Kripalu yoga, and Swami Kripalu has taught: “First, love everyone.”

      • Bonjour David, thanks for responding. I can see how your Kripalu Yoga practice and Buddhism blend in well together for you. Yes, i agree with you that we can equate Love with the Divine. Swami Kripalu and all spiritual masters have said it: it’s about the opening of the heart (chakra), to all of humanity and life. I am curious about your Buddhist vows: Do you live in a monastery? Blessings of Peace and Love, Christine.

    • No, I’m not a monastic. I’m a “householder,” as Buddhists and yogis say. Terrific challenge to be in the world but not of the world.
      Peace,
      David

  3. Thank you for sharing your spiritual inspiration
    Peace
    Blessed with vision and insight, the light from the sun ray reflects the depth of your soul, magnifying your friendship for love to grow, at the break of dawn peace and quiet we walk through life .
    We are as a bird in flight, the moonlight shines through the night, faith illuminates our heart. Do we know Our Creator’s Wonderous Signs?
    We are all truly children of the Most Divine!

    Ashay

  4. Ashay, Islah! Thank you for your insightful comments. Bob Marley said it all in one song “One Love.” Did you read about Kwanzaa at your house? Blessings!

What do you think?

