One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 12, Comfort zone

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

My comfort zone with social media is the size of my Facebook profile photo.

So when I registered for a three-hour workshop titled “Article Marketing and Blogging for Web Traffic Domination,” I knew I’d signed up for a “Brain Stretching Bootcamp” of sorts.

But I didn’t know how painful it would be until I had to interrupt class and ask a most embarrassing question: “What’s SEO?”

The presenter paused for a moment long enough for the other participants to smile and sneer. Then he said in the voice mothers use with little children: “Now, here, let’s take it a whOOOle level down.” It didn’t help that for emphasis, he lowered his arms from his face down.

Retrospectively, even getting up at 4:30 a.m. on a Saturday and driving to Raleigh for two hours in the pouring rain felt more pleasant.

I went to bed at 8:30 p.m., my body exhausted, my brain short-circuited. I woke up in the middle of the night. I seriously doubted I could ever “tweet” nine people to follow me on Twitter @1bravechristian, let alone develop a blog that would “go viral” during Lent.

In the dark, I assessed my “one brave Christian” experiment. I’d written about it for eleven consecutive days, seven of them while studying with Sam Teague’s booklet.

I felt quite strong in four of his five disciplines:

– Self-surrender.

– Self-denial.

– Self-control.

– Witness my experience for God to others.

However, I’d scored close to zero in one discipline:

– Prayer Group: my virtual prayer group on Twitter had only one follower.

And one section of the morning requirement still challenged me:

– “Write out one totally unselfish and unexpected act of kindness or generosity that you will do today.”

Not that I wasn’t kind or generous to people on a daily basis for the past week.

But I hadn’t written out ahead of time one single act of kindness for me to do.

For eight days, I’d served in my usual ordinary way.

I’d stayed in my comfort zone.

The cover of Christine's library copy of "A Life That Really Matters." Photo by Christine Moughamian

Those thoughts kept me wide awake until I remembered my new library book: “A Life That Really Matters” by Danny Morris, the pastor of John Wesley Church in Tallahassee, where Sam Teague created his “brave Christian” experiment.

Immediately, I turned on my reading light, grabbed the book and began.

Morris recounted, in vibrant style, the story of the first 38 brave Christians. His foreword did not announce relief but increased difficulty for me:

“DO NOT WATER-DOWN THIS CHALLENGE…,” he warned his readers in bold capital letters. It was not until I read page 32 that I saw a glimmer of hope:

“I hesitate but a moment to point to a great surprise: this was the most difficult part of the experiment__ for us… I found I had to look more carefully at the ‘generous impulses’ I might choose to perform. Those words ‘totally unselfish’ and ‘unexpected act of kindness’ began haunting me.”

“Join the club,” I thought to myself.

Then it dawned on me. “Twitter!”

With one single goal, I could set to develop a virtual prayer group AND write out a totally unselfish and unexpected act of kindness to do today.

All I have to do now is step out of my comfort zone into my SEO: Serve Extra Online.

One response to “One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 12, Comfort zone

  1. Really enjoyed your personal insights here, Christine.

What do you think?

