One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 20, Halfway there!

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

Today, I’m exactly midway through the 40 days of Lent and the 31 days of my “brave Christian experiment.”

I’m halfway there!

My body is fine-tuned; my mind is a clock.

It’s easy now to start my Christian discipline at 5:30 a.m., even the day after I lost one hour of sleep to daylight savings time.

I pray and meditate for 30 minutes, with no effort or distraction. I just follow Sam Teague’s format, outlined below in capital letters. Today’s a good day to let you in on a full page of my practice booklet.

Do you want to peek over my shoulder and read from my journal?

FIRST 10 MINUTES:

I’m instructed to pray and meditate on the scripture; then “write out in less than 50 words how this applies to your life”:

“If I regard inequity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me.” (Psalm

Illustrated Book of Psalms. Photo by Christine Moughamian

66:18)

In 45 words, I write:

“Actually, God the Good will not hear me, but the vibrational universe will! Inequity begets inequity, justice begets justice. Which one do I want in my experience? It’s up to me to choose. When I exercise my free will, I am free from mind bondage.”

SECOND 10 MINUTES:

Sam Teague asks me to “write out one totally unselfish and unexpected act of kindness or generosity that you will do today.” (Italics are in the original text)

I commit to “call my girlfriend that I have not seen in a long time. I’ll make plans to visit her this week and offer my help and support.”

THIRD 10 MINUTES:

With daily discipline comes clarity. Once Lent is over, I can integrate my early morning prayer and meditation “to build and develop” some aspects of my life.

My spiritual home:

As an expert mason or a master carpenter, I build my spiritual stronghold with a deep foundation and solid stones.

Foundation: Integrity.

– First Stone: Truth.

– Second Stone: Dedication.

– Third Stone: Joy!

– Fourth Stone: Trust.

– Fifth Stone: Learning.

– Sixth Stone: Mastery.

– Seventh Stone: Discipline.

My gift to the world:

Writing is my gift to the world. My practice as “one brave Christian” has helped me define some goals.

GOAL #1: I successfully develop my blog for my writers’ retreats in France. If I can write posts daily for 40 days, I can do it… forever!

GOAL #2: I master social media.

Last week, I learned how to upload photos from my digital camera to my computer and to attach them to emails. In time, I can stretch my comfort zone all the way to mastery!

It’s up to me now to demonstrate my understanding of the scriptures, to

The hawk Christine spotted on her roof today, her 20th day of One Brave Christian. Photo by Christine Moughamian

surrender to God the Good and to receive abundance with total faith.

Today’s a good day!

I’ve already completed my Christian discipline, practiced Kundalini

Yoga, made a pastel drawing and a journal entry, wrote my post, took photographs AND I spotted a hawk on the roof.

If I’m halfway there today, by Easter, the sky’s the limit!

What do you think?

