One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 23, Déjà Vu

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

Last night, I found myself in a situation similar to the one described in Matthew 8: 23-24:

“And when Jesus went up into the boat, his disciples went with him. And behold, the sea became very rough, so that the boat was almost covered by the waves.”

Likewise, my thoughts were scattered in the winds of fury; my emotions rode the high waves of a tempest at sea. My boat was rocked.

For my “storm” to calm down, it took talking about it with my boyfriend, who remained poised and prayed with me. Then I called Silent Unity at 1-800-NOW-PRAY. Soaking in a hot bath afterwards guaranteed a good night of sleep.

Early this morning, when I read the scripture for my “brave Christian” experiment, I recognized the setting and the characters of my inner drama.

I had an instant moment of déjà vu.

Jesus was asleep during the storm, as was my higher self. His disciples

Jesus with his disciples on the Sea of Galilee...

Jesus with his disciples on the Sea of Galilee, Ernst Georg Bartsch, 1967. Image via Wikipedia

were fearful, as were my ego’s drives and desires. The winds blew hard, as did my thoughts. The waves rode high and low, as did my emotions.

I asked my boyfriend to help me pray, just like the disciples woke up Jesus and said to him “save us, we are perishing.” (Matthew 8:25).

Matthew 8:26 tells the rest of the story:

“Jesus said to them, Why are you afraid, O you of little faith? Then he got up and rebuked the wind and sea, and there was a great calm.”

I looked up “rebuke” in the dictionary:

“Reprove, speak severely to someone (officially or otherwise): rebuke a subordinate for being impudent.”

That definition described exactly what I had to do with my own thoughts and emotions. I had to “reprove” them and put them back in their place as “subordinates” to my will.

In the end, the disciples wonder:

“But who is this man that even the winds and the sea obey him?” (Matthew 8:27).

Truly, who is this man, if not a master?

If Jesus could appease the fears of his disciples and calm the Sea of Galilee, surely, we can call upon the Presence within and master our thoughts and emotions.

The result is guaranteed: “a great calm.”

What do you think?

