One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 25, To everything, a season

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

My “brave Christian” scripture this morning mirrored my thoughts with perfect synchronicity:

“To everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under the sun.” (Ecclesiastes 3:1)

I realized I’d been writing every day for the past 25 days in observance of Sam Teague’s 30-minute prayer and meditation. However, I noticed I had not followed the strict time division he recommends in his practice booklet:

1) First 10 minutes:

Write about how the selected scriptures apply to my life.

2) Second 10 minutes:

Write about an unselfish act of kindness I’ll do today.

3) Third 10 minutes:

Write about how I would like to build and develop my life.

So far, it looked like I’d concentrated on the first assignment. I’d often skipped over the second and third time segments in order to write involved articles about the first one.

A quick assessment early this morning showed me that:

– I had not been regular in responding to comments on my posts and @1bravechristian on Twitter.

– I had not made much progress on the very few goals I’d defined for myself since the beginning of my Lenten experiment.

– I’d neglected my friends, my memoir writing and my writers’ retreats in France.

During my meditation, I decided to re-evaluate the time I’d spent writing my articles.

I prayed about a new purpose for my early meditation practice. I affirmed that I would transition through change with grace.

Later in the day, I saw two signs pointing the way.

The sign at Myrtle Grove Evangelical Presbyterian Church. Photo by Christine Moughamian

1) The Myrtle Grove Evangelical Presbyterian Church marquee seemed to confirm that I was transitioning:

“GOING THROUGH PASSAGES. TRUE RIGHTEOUSNESS.”

2) The Dry Dock Family Motel sign in Carolina Beach seemed to cheer me on with:

“NEW DAY. NEW CHOICE. NEW LIFE!”

I think I’m on the right track!

The sign at the Dry Dock Motel in Carolina Beach. Photo by Christine Moughamian.

What do you think?

