One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 27, The most comforting day

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

This morning, I began my “brave Christian” meditation at 4:44 a.m. exactly.

I must confess that I was45 minutes early due to stress, not eagerness.

I skipped church on Sunday to catch up on my journaling but only got to it after lunch. By then, my boyfriend, Jim, and I were crossed at each other and sulking in separate rooms. Later on, my sister called me from France to update me on our mother’s health. I hung up one hour later, sad and depressed.

My restful day turned out stressful.

I flashed back to the church marquee I’d photographed at Carolina Beach.

Cape Fear Baptist Church sign on the first day. Photo by Christine Moughamian

In big capital letters, it read:

“WHY IS THE MOST RESTFUL DAY FOLLOWED BY THE MOST STRESSFUL?”

They got it all wrong and backwards. Sunday was not “the most restful day.”

Fortunately, Jim and I made up shortly thereafter and went to our church Fellowship Circle.

The completed statement on the Cape Fear Baptist Church sign. Photo by Christine Moughamian

Back home, I called Silent Unity at 1-800-NOW-PRAY. My prayer partner helped me concentrate on the Healing Presence within my mother.

Prayer helped me fall asleep, but worry woke me up in the wee hours of the night.

If Sunday was that stressful, what would happen on Monday?

That question opened my practice early this morning. I found a reassuring answer in today’s scripture, John 14:27, where Jesus tells his disciples:

“Peace I leave with you… Let not your heart be troubled and do not be afraid.”

My thoughts stopped spinning. My breath calmed down. I read from John 11:26:

“But the Comforter, the Holy Spirit…”

I couldn’t stop repeating “the Comforter.”

Gradually, I let myself be “comforted” by the presence of Spirit within me, holding me in perfect peace and surrender. I went back to sleep until 8 a.m., when I woke up with a certainty:

Monday would be the most comforting day!

What do you think?

