One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 29, Prayer works!

A Silent Unity prayer form. Photo by Christine Moughamian.

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

This morning, my cell phone showed 15 calls in 48 hours to Silent Unity at 1-800-NOW-PRAY.

Most of them were prayer requests for my mother’s health.

Would my 83-year old mother accept her memory loss and let my sister manage her medical care? Would she agree to the CT scan she needed?

My “brave Christian” scripture only brought some temporary relief:

“Let not your heart be troubled.” (John 14:1)

By the afternoon, I was a wreck again.

Finally, around 3:30 p.m., my mother called me. She was happy and excited to tell me about her day. My sister took her out to lunch; then shopping.

“I bought some perfume, two lipsticks and two pairs of shoes.”

I couldn’t wait to hear about the CT scan, but she only remembered the food and the goodies.

Finally, my sister came on the phone and gave me the news: “Yes, Mother went to the clinic for her CT scan.”

“Yes,” Mother said, “and the brain’s alright!”

“Now you have the proof,” I answered.

Tears of joy came to my eyes. I, too, had the proof I needed:

Prayer works!

What do you think?

