One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 34, The fountain of eternal bliss

A quote from Christine's date book from one of her favorite spiritual masters. Photo by Christine Moughamian

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

Today’s scripture turned this “brave Christian” back into a “brave Yogini.”

First, I read the words of Jesus as they applied to me, a woman:

I thought it especially important to change the gender since Jesus, sitting by a well, was talking to a woman.

“But whoever drinks of the water which I give her shall never thirst; but the same water which I give her shall become in her a well of water springing up to life everlasting.” (John 4:14).

Second, I remembered what Jesus meant when he said “I give”:

“My own peace I give you; not as the world gives, I give to you.” (John 14:27)

It was clear to me that Jesus gave his disciples nothing tangible or material. As a teacher, Christ gave them the teachings of Spirit, indwelling within everyone.

Third, I was reminded of an inspirational quote by one of my favorite spiritual masters, Paramahamsa Yogananda:

“The wellspring of undiluted joy of Spirit lies buried within your soul. Dig with the pickax of meditation until you discover it, and bathe in that fountain of eternal bliss.”

And so it passed that, sitting at the well of “life everlasting” in me, I also drank from “the fountain of eternal bliss.”

What do you think?

