One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 35, “Let your light so shine!”

Jesus and nine of the Twelve Apostles depicted with "Floating" disk halos in perspective, a detail from The Tribute Money, illustrating Matthew 17:24-27, by Masaccio, 1424, Brancacci Chapel. Image via Wikipedia.

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

Today is Day 31 of my 31 days being a “brave Christian” with Sam Teague’s booklet.

This morning, I read the last scripture, Matthew 5:16, which I translated into metaphysical terms:

“Let your light so shine in the world that people may see your demonstrations of the Law of Creation and glorify Spirit within.”

Then I took the final assessment which Teague called “A LIFE THAT REALLY MATTERS SELF-EVALUATION.” (Capitals and italics are Teague’s).

Teague’s language dated his methods with a negative emphasis. However, I played fair and answered his questions the best I could.

1. No, I didn’t “follow exactly the half-hour schedule.” I usually devoted more time to scripture study than the allotted 10 minutes.

2. I started my prayer and meditation before or at 5:30 a.m. only 16 times, but I practiced first thing in the morning 29 times.

3. I “accomplished three-fourths of my good deeds,” although I didn’t “write them out” ahead of time as instructed.

4. I gave my 10 percent.

5. I prayed about my use of the other 90 percent of my income.

6. I “gained insight into my life through the daily scriptures.”

7. I’m not “behind in my two hours a week ” but right on schedule.

8. I’m still writing everyday “specifically about God.”

Two of the questions were not applicable to me because I wasn’t part of a group.

1. In all fairness, I could say I “have been genuinely open” about my process, not in a group, but with my readers.

2. There were no meetings for me to miss, but I have been inconsistent with my tweets at @1bravechristian on Twitter.

I felt uncomfortable answering two questions, especially after I read Teague’s last instruction. Referred to as a “prayer” to God, it was in fact a contract. Neither could I “strike through the phrases” which didn’t apply to me such as:

“I have [surrendered] [drawn closer] to Jesus Christ as my Savior and Lord… And before this day is over, I will tell [one person] [two or more persons] of my new commitment.” (Brackets and italics are Teague’s.).

I do not recruit for God.

Rather than follow Teague’s instructions, I’ll practice Christ’s teachings.

And I’ll let my “light so shine!”

What do you think?

