One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 36, One brave writer

The definition of writer's block from Wikipedia. Photo by Christine Moughamian

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian.

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

Unlike some writers, I don’t have “writer’s block.”

That’s why I embarked on my Lenten experiment confident that I could write one post a day. And I have been doing so, religiously. But what began as a risk-free proposition soon turned into sleep-deprivation.

To continue writing daily, this “brave Christian” had to double up as “one brave writer.”

What was my problem? I found out at 4 a.m. this morning.

As I lay awake in bed, I realized I did NOT have to pray and meditate at 5:30 a.m.; I did NOT have to comment on scriptures; I did NOT have to turn on my thinking mind.

What had kept me up at night was the opposite of writer’s block: mental hyperactivity.

I thought to myself: “I had my last date with Sam Teague yesterday.”

Starting today, I could resume my daily routine with yoga first thing in the morning, followed by breakfast, a walk in the woods and then – only then – writing!

I smiled in the dark and fell sound asleep.

What do you think?

