One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 37, Attractive lips

Editor’s Note: Contributor Christine Moughamian is blogging each day of Lent about her progress becoming “one brave Christian.” Follow her experiment on Twitter @1bravechristian

By Contributor Christine Moughamian

My random act of kindness yesterday was, well, random.

I didn’t “write it out” ahead of time like Sam Teague asked his “brave Christians” to do. Yet, when I met someone in need, I offered my help.

Early in the morning, I saw a lady in difficulty on the steps of St Mary’s Catholic Church. She was clutching the ramp with one hand. She was fighting back her tears and could barely breathe. In a low broken voice, she told me of a death in her family.

I put one hand on her back; with the other, I held her arm. I made conscious efforts to breathe deeply. Little by little, she followed my rhythm. Her breath slowed down. Her voice calmed down.

Words of comfort came to me. I asked her if she wanted to pray. She said, “Yes, please, let’s pray.”

She punctuated our prayer with heartfelt “Amens!” When we were done, she said she felt much better and thanked me for my kindness.

Later on, on my way back home, I wondered how I could have possibly “written out” that random act of kindness.

Then I saw a sign that gave me the answer I needed:

The Indochine restaurant sign. Photo by Christine Moughamian.

“FOR ATTRACTIVE LIPS SPEAK WORDS OF KINDNESS.”

As a reminder, I took a photograph of it. Then I made a mental note to daily “speak words of kindness” to strangers in need.

It didn’t hurt that in the process, it guaranteed “attractive lips!”

One response to “One Brave Christian Experiment: Day 37, Attractive lips

  1. Beautiful! Beautiful!

What do you think?

