‘Jesus Culture’ in the sand

Tony Soto, 21, and Bonnie Cambron, 19 try out a few yoga poses at Wrightsville Beach. Photo by Christine Moughamian

Christine Moughamian

By Blogger Christine Moughamian
One Yogini, Many Paths

On Tuesday (April 10), I went to the South Point at Wrightsville Beach.

I needed to take a long walk to the jetty. At a turn around the dunes, I noticed a young couple practicing what looked like a yoga posture. They were struggling in the sand, trying to tackle “The Crow,” a difficult arm balance, with both knees bent above the elbows.

I came closer, gave them tips on how to get in the pose and hold it. When they succeeded, I gave them two thumbs up and continued on.

Upon my return, half an hour later, they were still “playing Yogis” in the sand.

When the young woman stood up, I noticed her T-shirt. It read: “Jesus Culture.”

This Yogini thought it rather sweet for two young Christians to embrace yoga.

I asked them if they were practicing for a yoga class, but the young man said: “We’re just playing around.” His girlfriend said she’d taken only one yoga class before, “but that was a long time ago.” They didn’t even know the names of the postures they’d gotten into.

I told them: “Yoga teaches itself, just follow your breath and steady your gaze.” Then, I taught them another balance posture, “Tree Pose.”

Before I left, I took their photo. I asked their names, but no one had pen and paper. So I told them to write in the sand: “Tony Soto, 21” and “Bonnie Cambron, 19.”

What a serendipitous moment of “Jesus Culture” and yoga on the beach!

Tony Soto, 21, and Bonnie Cambron, 19, wrote their names in the sand. Photo by Christine Moughamian

What do you think?

